Here's the latest in "The Life of Lizzie" saga. Yesterday at about 2pm I decided I wanted some M&Ms so I - along with my friend Gay - went to the cafeteria to buy some. As we were going down the stairs - holding onto the rail - I came to a part that had something really slippery on it causing my hand to fly down the rail and lost my balance. I was about 5-6 steps from the bottom and remember consciously holding on for dear life to the railing. I must have gone down on my knees first - yes, going down the steps - then somehow banged and scraped my shins on the way down - stretching lots of 'things' in my legs, arms and wrists. Thank goodness there was a man at the bottom of the stairs getting ready to come up and he ran to my rescue. I think he caught me (poor man - he, too will probably have a Workers' Comp claim!) and got me situated so I could sit down on the steps. It all happened so fast - but like it was in slow motion - that I'm not sure exactly what happened. After a trip to the ER - a 3-hr visit with them - nothing is broken, which they say is a miracle. My left leg had the top layer of skin scrapped off along the shin and both legs have these huge swollen bruises and I must have even stretched my arm pits a couple of inches because I can hardlylife my arms. I feel like maybe I was hit by a Mack truck. The only good thing is that I get to have 2 days off from work and probably won't have to use my vacation/sick days. When I was talking to our HR safety advocate about what to do she actually told me that quite a few people have fallen on those stairs! They are in the new building where everything is ultra modern - and slick, especially the stairs which do not have treads and have this narrow little aluminum/metal type handrail.
So, here I sit on the sofa with legs propped up - ice packs on both shins and the trusty remote, computer and cell phone within reaching distance! Could be worse but I'm not liking this. Absolutely I know how lucky/fortunate I am not to have broken anything.
Geeeeeshhhhhhhhhhh
Love ya sisters!
Thursday, June 18, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Lizzie!!! OH MY GOSH! I am so sorry to hear about this, but I am so glad that it is not worse. It is way bad enough though. Take care and let The Man (Dan) take care of you and pamper you. And call me if you need anything.
ReplyDeleteLove you!
Poor baby!!! That must have been very frightening for you. Thank goodness you didn't break anything! I'm sorry you are hurtin'.
ReplyDeleteMany hugs to you sissy...
I am out for the weekend on a primitive camp adventure. Yep, in the rain!